Lost my bearings

1941 - 1945, MB, GPW Technical questions and discussions, regarding anything related to the WWII jeep.
pkozak1
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Lost my bearings

Post by pkozak1 » Tue Jun 02, 2020 4:48 pm

Well here is the scenario, It was this past Memorial Day and was 92* out the Jeep was running at 190* with 38-42 psi oil pressure using 15/40 Rotilla. I had the timing advanced to highest vacuum reading and then backed off 1/2”. I screwed up and went for the non-ethanol fuel not realizing it was 91 octane. The engine had 150 miles on it after I rebuilt it. Now so down, I have been rebuilding Diesel engines for over twenty years at least and have never had a “re-do”. I marked everything, took pictures for reference if I was unsure while going back together as this is my first flathead and followed the TM and the updates. I used plastic gauge to check clearances, all was good. Until the 38 mile (we will bring the parade to you - due to the Covid 19) Parade. About halfway through I heard a knocking and looked down to see my oil pressure bouncing around 10 psi. It maintained that pressure with a knocking sound only on acceleration. Until we made it back. I know I should have shut it down but I figured we had “lube”’pressure so wasn’t to worried. So now I got it back and and found so far a very worn bearing into the copper rigidly on # 2 rod. The crank will need to be turned. My question is could all of the factors that day lead up to this unfortunate situation? Thanks guy.

OldGPW
G-Colonel
G-Colonel

Re: Lost my bearings

Post by OldGPW » Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:49 pm