1945 MB restoration project

1941 - 1945, MB, GPW Technical questions and discussions, regarding anything related to the WWII jeep.
steviem
G-Sergeant Major
G-Sergeant Major

1945 MB restoration project

Post by steviem » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:52 am

Hi folks, here i have March 45 Willys for restoration, it runs well with good oil pressure gear selection etc seems fine, the brake pedal is however rock solid, i have had this a few weeks now and in the process of a front end strip but with the virus alert at the moment can not get anywhere near it as it is at my daughters house, i am a novice so hopefully in the right place for help and advice
Steve
1.jpg
4.jpg
11.jpg
3.jpg
6.jpg
9.jpg

dpcd67
G-General
G-General

Re: 1945 MB restoration project

Post by dpcd67 » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:22 am

How lucky you are to get such a nice restoration candidate; I never see ones like this any more; all rust buckets. Must live West of the rockies.
First thing you do; do not touch the jeep until you do these things:
Get a complete set of TMs including the SNL.
Study them for a month, every day.
Get and read the books, All American Wonder.
Read Jeep Draw in its entirety.
Get and read Ren's jeep restoration book.
There is a web site, 1945 MB restoration; read that.
Search here on G503 about it.
Study and read.
Call Ron Fitzpatrick and get to know him. He is a nice guy and that is where all the parts come from; he is paying for you to be on this site.
Find an experienced WW2 jeep guy near you. Put where you are in your profile.
Keep 6 feet away from him/her.
Do all that, and then you can start thinking of a plan. Have a plan; do not just start ripping into it, like I do.
And 1000 more things.
U. S. Army 28 years.
Armor Branch

Ed Roberts
G-Command Sergeant Major
G-Command Sergeant Major

Post by Ed Roberts » Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:47 pm