Restoring inside of Jerry Cans for actual use

Manufacturers, production numbers, configurations, etc.
1stSgtUSMC
G-Staff Sergeant
G-Staff Sergeant

Restoring inside of Jerry Cans for actual use

Post by 1stSgtUSMC » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:44 pm

Hey Fellas,

I bought 6 Jerry Cans ranging from 1950 to 1970 and I want to clean/ restore inside to utilize them for fuel. How do I do it? Can I utilize rust remover and Im done, or do I need to seal the inside prior to fuel usage? What rust reomover do you all recomend? Tango in advance!

S/F

kevin
Semper Fi
1stSgt USMC Active Duty
1952 M38
1966 614M Trailer

gerrykan
G-General
G-General

Re: Restoring inside of Jerry Cans for actual use

Post by gerrykan » Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:22 pm

Kevin,
I would think a gas tank sealer after de-rusting would be better than bare steel that will rust again at some point.
I have no experience with the tank sealers, but a POR-15 product was mentioned in the past.

There have been several methods showcased here over the years for rust removal including(but not limited to): molasses, vinegar, electrolysis, and placing either ball bearings or gravel in the can and rotating it in a portable concrete mixer.

I'm sure others would be interested in hearing the results of whatever method you may try.
Roy

Rustman
G-Lieutenant Colonel
G-Lieutenant Colonel

Post by Rustman » Thu Apr 23, 2020 6:30 pm

Gas cans and gas tanks on vehicles were never lined to begin with. But that works best by either keeping the cans dry with the the caps off so moisture doesn't condense inside the can or FULL of fuel. Diesel tends to coat the inside better than gasoline and a can used for diesel tends to not have the same rust issues. I'm leery of tank lining, heard too may horror stories from the hot rod and motorcycle communities. But I'll be honest, I haven't tried any myself.

Matt
1970 Kaiser Jeep DJ-5A Left Hand Drive
1945 Corps of Engineers Welder & Trailer
1943 G518 "Ben Hur" Trailer Steel Body