Any interest in windshield glass etching stencils

Military Trucks 2 1/2 ton and greater, Wanted, For Sale (NO AUCTION or EBAY), and Knowledge Base

Moderator: kw573

retro-roco
G-Brigadier General
G-Brigadier General

Any interest in windshield glass etching stencils

Post by retro-roco » Wed Apr 24, 2019 6:23 am

I have been offering these custom stencils for several years to the Chevy G506 crowd. Several have mentioned that they are also using them on other vehicles they own too.

The stencils are self-adhesive and are used to chemically etch the glass, and replicate the logos originally etched in the window glass. Here are pics of the stencil artwork:

Windshield Stencil

Side - rear window stencil

Please note that the outer "frame" lines are not part of the stencil, but indicate where they are separated from one another.

The stencils are intended for single use only, and for use on glass lying flat. If you elect to use them on glass that as been installed, the acid cream should easily stay in place; allowing for a good etch to be achieved. The removal of it WILL be more challenging though, requiring it to be wiped off with a wet sponge or rag. You will need to take steps to insure that the acid cream does not come in contact with exposed surfaces of your truck! I would suggest having a bucket of clean water handy, so any acid cream can flushed immediately with clean water if it does come in contact.

Here is a link to the FS post viewtopic.php?f=25&t=239696

I have created custom fonts that duplicate the etching stencils used by Libby-Owens-Ford (LOF) glass company, based on original glass photos provided by Chevy owners. The Chevy stencil kit included 5 stencils (2 windshield glass, 2 door glass and 1 rear window glass).

Any interest in creating a similar "windshield only" stencil project for all the soft cab trucks that are running around??
IMG_6024-LH.jpg
IMG_6024-LH.jpg (67.78 KiB) Viewed 1284 times
Original
6-1940 LOF plate.JPG