Replacement depots question

This forum is meant to cover General Military History, Vehicle & Unit Marking, Serial Numbering, Identification, Gee Members, Military Unit Identification, Veteran Information, Parts ID, Data Plate Marking, Passing’s, Reunions, Information Tracking & Research that otherwise might get lost in the forums meant for more specific topics.
Heath MI
G-Sergeant
G-Sergeant

Replacement depots question

Post by Heath MI » Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:07 pm

Hello,
I’ve been researching my grandfather’s WWII service for a few years now. Long story short, I’m trying to retrace his path across Europe in 1945. I have many of the pieces of the puzzle for his journey; US to Scotland (aboard the Queen Mary), across England, came ashore at Omaha Beach (his recollections), and his final destination near Forbach, France (70th ID), in February’45.

What I’m trying to find is the locations of the replacement depots. I’d like to see if there’s anything out there that might allow me to connect the dots for his path across France before he arrived at his unit? I’m not only looking for the names of the camps, but maybe documentation that shows names and dates. I don’t know if such things still exist to be quite honest. Books? Websites? Informational documents?

Any assistance or leads anyone can provide would be much appreciated. Thank you up front.

v/r,
Heath
    1942 Ford GPW
    1941 Plymouth P12 Special Deluxe
    1945 GMC CCKW 353

70th Division
    G-Lieutenant General
    G-Lieutenant General
    Re: Replacement depots question

Post by 70th Division » Tue Mar 14, 2023 11:52 am

Heath MI wrote:
    Fri Mar 10, 2023 9:07 pm
    Hello,