OIL IN CLUTCH BEARING CARRIER HOUSEING

M274 Mechanical Mule Knowledge Base
Guam0311
G-Master Sergeant
G-Master Sergeant
OIL IN CLUTCH BEARING CARRIER HOUSEING

Post by Guam0311 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:08 pm

I finally pulled the motor yesterday to start the Mule/Genset motor swap and I found about ten OZ. of gear oil in the bottom of the carrier. Came back from work today and found a puddle of oil on the ground. looks like its leaking from the right side axle housing assembly seals or seal? I am no expert on this but im sure there is no quick fix for this other then rebuilding the axle assembly?

Also while the motor is out, should I go ahead and replace both clutch release and carrier springs?
Attachments
IMG_3219.JPG
IMG_3219.JPG (126.86 KiB) Viewed 1434 times
IMG_3250.JPG
IMG_3250.JPG (107.68 KiB) Viewed 1435 times

muleman7
G-First Lieutenant
G-First Lieutenant

Re: OIL IN CLUTCH BEARING CARRIER HOUSEING

Post by muleman7 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:39 am

Replace the Throwout Bearing but your Springs should be OK unless they are stretched or deformed.

To replace the left rear Axle Transmission Seal you must remove the Axle and right Drop Gear Housing Assy.

If you do not remove the Transmission Assy you can leave it in the Mule. To get the right Drop Gear Housing Assy to clear the Frame Tubes remove the 4 right Frame Tube bolts and the right Rear Bed Support Tube. Remove 3 left Frame Tube Bolts leaving a loose top left Bolt installed. The Transmission Assy can now drop down so the right Drop Gear Housing Assy can be removed from the Transmission.

Clean the Metal Shims, Transmission Mounting Flange, the Ring Gear Mounting Flanges and DG Mounting Flange. Use Permatex Aviation Form-A-Gasket Sealer to prevent possible leaks.

Install the Transmission Axle Seal with lip towards the Ring Gear.

You could replace the rear LH Axle Seal in the DG Housing with the lip towards the Axle Bearing.