GPW Serial #23254 Script tub restoration

Create a thread to track the progress of you MB/GPW restoration progress. Previously a General Discussion board.
RoyWainscott
G-Private First Class
G-Private First Class

GPW Serial #23254 Script tub restoration

Post by RoyWainscott » Sat Aug 28, 2021 7:56 pm

Greetings G503 community! I'm starting this thread to document the restoration of my recently acquired GPW.

A little background: I've been building and restoring autos and motorcycles for the last 20 years or so. After getting an old '51 Willys Truck with its original 134 F head going again over the past few months, I realized I had been bitten by the jeep bug. Who doesn't grow up playing GI Joe and not want the grandfather of them all? Which led to the purchase of a 1942 GPW.

As the title says, it's S/N 23254. It's got plenty of "character" and by that I mean rust and dents. The floors are shot, the toolboxes are rusted out, and the rear panel is probably 25%Swiss cheese but the Ford logo embossing is worth saving in my opinion.

The motors number does not match and the center data plate on the glove box door is AWOL. :( But i feel pretty confident that the frame and tub go together.
Motor # 275383

I've done sheet metal repair and frame fab, so even though this might be the most extensive repair on a body I've completed, I feel like I can handle it with the quality repair panels available.

Otherwise I'll be looking for a few of the missing items: namely Drivers seat and rear seat. Under the hood it had a 12v modern alternator so ill be sourcing a generator and regulator as well.

Any and all info and opinions are welcome! I really do appreciate the accumulated knowledge collected herein!

One of the things I'd like to know is the assembly plant. I was born in Louisville KY and I'd love it if this old soldier was too.

Pics coming!

RoyWainscott
G-Private First Class
G-Private First Class

Re: GPW Serial #23254 Script tub restoration