What to do?

1941 - 1945, MB, GPW modifications, sugestions, and ideas, official MWO's and unofficial WWII field mods NO EBAY or COMMERCIAL SALES.
Limmkr
G-Sergeant
G-Sergeant
What to do?

Post by Limmkr » Fri Jul 24, 2020 7:38 pm

So I'm trying to decide to either get the L134 going, or replace it with an updated motor and electronics. I got this Jeep free and want a fun play around vehicle. Not restoration, not rock crawler, just reliable fun vehicle to take out on a easy trail, cruise town, and enjoy another Jeep -first is a '03 TJ. So I know it's been converted to 12v, coil is missing, wiring is all jacked up from 50 years on a farm. I'm no mechanic, plenty of buddies that are, just want some advice from guys I'm know have done mods from original and how to do it. Thanks in advance!
Steve

Ez8
G-Second Lieutenant
G-Second Lieutenant

Re: What to do?

Post by Ez8 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:14 am

Depending on what engine you put in there, you'll likely need to beef up the suspension and brakes and running gear to handle the additional weight and power of a new engine.

I'm not against modifying the old jeeps to whatever the owner's preference is, but I think that a lot of time a prospective modder jumps in not understanding the full extent of "just an engine upgrade" really means.

You have what appears to be a fairly complete and original jeep, my suggestion would be fix up the L134, see how you like driving the old girl around and then mod from there.
MB# 215159 D.O.D 2-25-43
Build Thread: viewtopic.php?f=96&t=209632

JAB
G-General
G-General

Post by JAB » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:55 am

Ez8 explained it well. Unless you've done it, you have no idea what it takes to upgrade or update something that is already essentially complete. It's usually easier to fix existing.
-Jeff

GR8GPN2U!!!

Limmkr
G-Sergeant
G-Sergeant

Post by Limmkr » Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:48 am