GI combat uniform

Question and opinion regarding Living History / Reenacting.
Daren
G-Sergeant Major
G-Sergeant Major
GI combat uniform

Post by Daren » Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:57 pm

Hi all, I am fairly new to the joys of reenactment and now that my jeep is ready I would like to get some uniform to wear when displaying her at shows and things. Thing is there are so many options I am not sure what would be more correct for my jeep and era of the war.
The jeep is a 1942 GPW and I have decided to depict the 1st infantry division, "Big Red One" (you see so many as airborne or British jeeps I wanted to be a bit different). My thinking is that the 1st had been to Africa then Italy and finally France so I would like to depict a GI who has been through a few zones and so would have picked up uniform and webbing from the beginning upto the end of the war. What sort of pants and jacket combo would be possible and look convincing? I like the look of the m1941 jacket and I think the HBT pants would be more comfortable to wear (wool makes me itch)
Would this have been a possibility? Also what would GI have worn under their combat jackets? T-shirt or a sleeved button shirt? Tie?
Also the insignia and rank stripes, how were they worn? Which shoulders? Would prefer an NCO or private over a full officer.
Any help and suggestions will be gratefully received.
Regards
Daren
1942 Ford GPW
Scun Thorpe UK

Farrell Fox
banned
Re: GI combat uniform

Post by Farrell Fox » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:47 pm

[Post Deleted By Author]
Last edited by Farrell Fox on Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
4th Tank Battalion, 4th Marine Division
M1A1 Main Battle Tank Mechanic
M88 Armored Vehicle Recovery Operator
AVLB Operator

Daren
G-Sergeant Major
G-Sergeant Major

Post by Daren » Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:53 am

Thanks for the heads up. I will look around and ask a few questions.
Regards
Daren
1942 Ford GPW
Scun Thorpe UK

17thAirborne
G-Lieutenant General
G-Lieutenant General