Mule hour meter

M274 Mechanical Mule Knowledge Base
Post Reply
Hanselandgretel
G-First Sergeant
G-First Sergeant
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:07 pm
Location: Claremont, MN

Mule hour meter

Post by Hanselandgretel » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:37 pm

I bought a "new" Mule, rope start, and it has an hour meter on the back. With no electric system what runs it? Wires are cut off, data plate is missing from the Mule so I don't know what model it is. Has Bubba been working on this machine?

markrdje
USMC Sergeant
USMC Sergeant
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:44 pm
Location: south dakota

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by markrdje » Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:43 pm

I think the magneto runs it
change user name to mark

Chuck W.
G-Lieutenant General
G-Lieutenant General
Posts: 5076
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 1:00 pm

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by Chuck W. » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:23 pm

Must be a 4 VDC meter to work. "-" wire is ground, "+" wire is Y'ed into the magneto switch wire. Bear in mind, if the hour meter is shorted internally, it will also ground the magneto and prevent the engine from running.

Image

Hanselandgretel
G-First Sergeant
G-First Sergeant
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:07 pm
Location: Claremont, MN

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by Hanselandgretel » Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:51 pm

Thanks. I will apply 4vdc to it and see if it runs. Al

muleman7
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 6:36 pm
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by muleman7 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:58 pm

One of my customers while testing an hour meter noticed it not clocking time with the engine running at idle. The voltage from the magneto was less than 4 volts. Voltage at 2000 rpms was above 4 volts and the hour meter started to run.
Mules are my passion
www.m274armymules.com


Chuck W.
G-Lieutenant General
G-Lieutenant General
Posts: 5076
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 1:00 pm

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by Chuck W. » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:19 am

There was a certain parts vendor who was selling 12 VDC Hobbs meters for use in this application and when the meter would not work, he told the customer that they must have damaged the meter during installation and would not refund their money! Vendor is no longer in business!

muleman7
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Sergeant Major of the Gee
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 6:36 pm
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Re: Mule hour meter

Post by muleman7 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:12 am

Contact me if you need an Hour Meter e-mail preferred or PM. I have new M274 Hour Kits that includes the Y connector and Mounting Bracket.

Image

Image

Image
Mules are my passion
www.m274armymules.com

Post Reply

Return to “MULE M274 Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest